top of page
Search

Step 2 of Titus 2: False Accusers Need Not Apply

Updated: Oct 18, 2019




You're scrolling social media when a post catches your eye.


It's an older woman you respect, and she's going on about younger women and social media. At first, you nod...until she mentions something you've done recently. Publicly.


Your face heats as you realize she's referring to you. Only she totally misunderstood you, and now she's calling you out. Publicly.*


***


You're standing in line at Walmart when your child decides she can no longer hold it. Never mind that the restroom is RIGHT THERE. Warmth splash-trickles down through your cart to puddle on the floor. The matronly cashier lady is NOT amused.


Talking past you to the older woman behind you, she says, "Poor child. Forcing her to wait." She shakes her head and grabs the phone, calling for a mop at register six.


The woman behind you sniffs and returns all her loot off the counter back into her buggy and shoves her way in reverse to the self-checkout. You see her over there, still shaking her head and discreetly pointing at you - and giggling - to the older lady at the kiosk next to her.


***


You're visiting a great-aunt's best friend who's been put in the nursing home after hospitalization, hoping she knows she's not forgotten.


Three minutes into your visit, she's already unloaded all her grievances with acquaintances new and old. You know how her nephew probably stole that watch she's missing, how the cooks here are inept and borderline criminal, and how her daughter is probably glad about it. Five minutes in, you're gripping your seat, afraid to leave to think what tale she'll spin about you to the next person who visits.


***


I could go on, but you get the idea. Old women with no mercy are NO. FUN.


In the last blog, I told you the number one thing a woman must be if she hopes to make a difference in the next generation: "in behaviour as becometh holiness," or a woman who makes holiness look good.


In other words, I must become a woman who's godly AND happy.


But being godly and happy isn't enough.


Not if I'm acting like the devil. Accusing. Falsely. Pointing. Smirking. Slandering.


And I heard a loud voice saying in heaven, Now is come salvation, and strength, and the kingdom of our God, and the power of his Christ: for the accuser of our brethren is cast down, which accused them before our God day and night. And they overcame him by the blood of the Lamb, and by the word of their testimony; and they loved not their lives unto the death.

When a woman falsely accuses people, she becomes as much a tool of Satan as Potiphar's wife did when she crafted the lie about Joseph.


I am capable of that.


How I wish I wasn't! But it's SO easy for me to look down at the younger women I should be helping, and instead critique, condemn, and accuse them before even listening to their stories.


How can we expect younger women to get it right if we aren't getting it right by teaching them?


Huh?


It's hard for me to say this, because I have messed up here so many times. I hate to think about it. All the times I failed to reach out because in my heart, I'd already falsely accused a younger woman.


"She's a brat."

"She's unreachable."

"She's not interested in the truth."


Who am I?! How can I think such? Have I not been all those things? And even if it were true about that girl, why do I leave it there? Why do I not pray for mercy from the God who's itching to turn those hearts back to Himself? Just as He has done for me?


We have not because we ask not, friends.


Do you see younger women who seem hard, angry, broken?


We can no longer afford to pass judgment if we haven't spent at least an equal amount of time on our knees. And not just Facebook prayers, "Oh God, help her...well will you look at that..."



Better quit here. My toes are black and blue again. Sigh.


Oh, may God raise up an army of praying wise women to turn generations back to Himself.


Praise Jesus for that amazing grace He bought us at the cross. He has changed me. He has the power to change the brattiest young woman and the gossipin'-est old woman into wise women we love.



We could never praise His grace enough.


But we better try, because it's available to all of us, sisters! He's just waiting to hear our prayers and change this messed up world. We just need to look up.


And remember...today could be the day Jesus comes!





*None of the above scenarios were true or are meant to bear any resemblance to any persons living or dead.

bottom of page